An Editorial Review

I have continually struggled to keep to the 500 words advised, as you will have undoubtedly noticed, and what was meant to be four short posts giving an historical overview on each of Warrington’s ‘quarters’, has ended up around 6,000 words. Fine perhaps for an introduction to the book I am planning but, as I am starting to realize, a blog has different rules..

Although this long-winded detour has proved extremely useful to me, in identifying my stylistic faults – not least a tendency to overuse certain adjectives – and showing me the difficulties I have in grappling effectively with a large mass of information, it cannot be said to be fulfilling the ideal of what a blog is Meant to Be.

For myself, the main purpose of setting up a blog was to narrow down a theme for my book from all my research, and evolve and refine a written style in which to express it, so in that sense it can be said to be working well. However, as my search for better blogging techiques is uncovering, I should also be thinking of you, the reader.

The beauty of the blog format is the ability to edit afterwards, and I have been doing this frequently, treating each post as a draft chapter to be revised, corrected and added to. Not only is this not much fun for the reader, I am also realizing that I have become far too bogged down in these corrections, and lost sight of my original aim: to look at the Masterplan Framework’s suggestions for development, in the light of Warrington’s historical background.

A useful little article on copywriting for blogs has helped to clarify for me what a blog should actually be, (apparently, something between a press release, a short magazine article and an opinion piece, for the similarly non-tech-y types amongst you) so, with a bit of luck and a fair wind, improvements should be seen soon.

