Dear Reader

For those of you who are still with me after the detour, apparently I should be seeing my blog in the light of ‘building a community’, a concept I am finding difficult to come to terms with. My original thought was merely that a few, like-minded people would be mildly interested in what I had to say, and so, at the moment, it is proving.

There are about ten of you out there reading regularly, mostly from Britain and America, as you’d expect, though there is someone in Germany who reads every post the same day. Someone from Malaysia looked in once, (how on earth did they come across it?) but obviously decided it wasn’t for them, and someone from Russia looked in twice, or two people once, before also throwing in the towel.

Since I set the blog up, about a month ago, there have been 186 pageviews. I have no idea whether this is good or not. I am also not sure how people have found it, as it doesn’t come up on any key-word search I have tried – something I am trying to address at the moment, although the very explanations are incomprehensible to me.

I am extremely un-technologically minded, as you will have gathered, and I am finding myself in, not only new, but rather bewildering territory. The reason there are no comments is that, in my alteration of all the preferences when I was setting up the blog, I turned off the ability for readers to do so. I felt that, until I had got to grips with this unfamiliar format, comments, and the need to respond to them, would just be even more confusing. For those of you who are experiencing the equivalent of shouting at the television, normal service will be resumed. At some point.

